Last Modified September 19, 2026

Re-activation Process

  1. Overview
  2. Re-Activation Lockout
  3. Re-activation for Multi-User / Floating Licenses

 

Once a License Activation or Evaluation code has been successfully activated, the software can be re-installed on the same computer, or installed on any other computer, using the Re-Activation Process. To Re-activate the software, the user must provide the following information:

  • the License Activation Code
  • If User Authentication is enabled for the Product, the current License Password
  • If Roll-Over Re-activation is enabled for Single-User / Multi-Computer licenses, a New and Never Used password (max 16 characters)

For the re-activation to be successful :

  • the License Activation Code must be valid
  • if used, the current Password must be valid
  • if used, the new password must be "New and Never Used" (max 16 characters)
  • this re-activation must not exceed the allowable number of re-activations as determined by the Re-activation Lockout Settings (see below)

 

Re-activation Lockout and Settings for Single-User / Multi-Computer Licenses

The re-activation lockout settings allow a legitimate user to re-install the software on the same computer or on a different computer a number of times within a given period of time. If this number is exceeded ( possible abuse or excessive re-installations), then the Re-activation Lockout will be triggered. The Re-activation lockout will bar any new re-activations for a given period of time (the cooling period) following the lockout. Once the lockout cooling period is finished, the counters are reset, and new re-activations are again allowed.

The re-activation lockout settings is the same for all License Activation and Evaluation Codes for a product and is specified from the Product View screen.

The Re-activation Lockout settings include:

  • the re-activation limit, the number of re-activations allowed in the re-activation lockout period
  • the re-activation lockout period in days
  • the re-activation lockout cooling period (in days) during which time no re-activations are allowed. This will be triggered if the re-activation limit is exceeded during the re-activation lockout period.

If a LIcense Activation or Evaluation Code is in Lockout mode, it can be reset from the Code View screen for that License Code.

Our recommended settings are:

  • Level 1 Validation/Protection : 2 re-activations in 90 days, 90 day cooling period
  • Level 2 Validation/Protection : 2 re-activations in 60 days, 60 day cooling period
  • Level 3 Validation/Protection : 2 re-activations in 30 days, 30 day cooling period

If you set your own setings from the Product View screen, the following constraints apply:

  • Number of Re-activations must be from 1 to 5
  • Number of days must be from 14 to 2000 days
  • Cooling Period must be from 14 to 2000 days

Any changes will be applied to all the codes at the next Activation or re-activation.

You can also request a Custom setting by contacting our Technical Support.

 

Re-activation for Multi-User / Floating Licenses

For multi-user or Floating License codes, the Re-activation Lockout settings are not used. Unlimited re-activations are allowed on the same computer. Re-activations on other computers is subject to the maximum <seat> setting of the License Code.

The 1st installation and activation of the Multi-User / Floating License is considered an Activation and is used to set the License Code password and License Code Email. Any subsequent activation on another computer is considered a re-activation in software_DNA although, from the user’s perspective, would be presented as the activation of a new computer / seat.